News:

In case of emergency, please visit our Lifeboat Forum, Spare Goggles.

Main Menu

Introduce yourself!

Started by Nikandedd, March 05, 2007, 05:08:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ellie Winchester

Greetings to all,

As you can see, my handle is Ellie Winchester; you may call me Ellie.  I am a student, studying English and history, with a focus on the classical and medieval eras; however, I obviously have interests in other time periods as well.  I enjoy writing, drawing, reading, studying various cultures and folklore, mythology, legends from all over the world, as well as passing the time watching movies and studying their techniques, plot and various other aspects of production.  I'm also a collector of significantly useless knowledge, such as the fact that all the polygons used to create Optimus Prime in the first Transformers live-action movie of recent years could build the Roman Coliseum...twice.  I also enjoy collecting, or memorizing, various movie quotes, both obscure and blatant, such as "they took a sharp, red-hot poker, stuck it up your nose, scrambled things around a bit and ripped it all out through your nostrils" from The Mummy starring Brendan Fraiser and Rachel Weisz.

And now that you know a bit about myself, I should probably explain just what the bloody hell I'm doing here.  Obviously, I have an interest in steampunk, else my presence here would be fundamentally useless.  If I recall correctly, I first came across the concept when TOOLSHED, an online webcomic, was still being written and distributed, around 2005, 2006.  Since then, I've been coming across it repeatedly in art, fashion, literature, etc.  I've recently come to realize I have an interest in Victorian literature, though I absolutely cannot stand Dickens's A Tale of Two Cities.  Honestly, I understand the man was being paid by the word, but come on.  Stevenson's Robinson Crusoe is another that I just don't enjoy, but I digress.