News:

Two-Factor Authentication is now enabled. For instructions, visit the Engine Room.

Main Menu

That 'big project' I've been banging on about for a few years now....

Started by James Harrison, January 31, 2020, 08:06:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sorontar

Yes, remove the path, deepen the hole, build a subterranean laboratory, extend passageways to the nearest major waterway/cave, lay traintrack for future underground mechanical transport, cover construction with dirt, lay pretty path.

Simple!

Sorontar
Sorontar, Captain of 'The Aethereal Dancer'
Advisor to HM Engineers on matters aethereal, aeronautic and cosmographic
http://eyrie.sorontar.com

James Harrison

The path is not a priority at the moment. It's serviceable and largely in one piece. Considering it is uniformly supported and only subjected to foot traffic, it's fit for purpose, if not exactly aesthetic. If I were to break it out right now- which I'm not, lacking a sledgehammer and skip- I've got nothing to hand to replace it with and no funds to hand to purchase a replacement. Maybe when I seriously start in the garden, perhaps.
Persons intending to travel by open carriage should select a seat with their backs to the engine, by which means they will avoid the ashes emitted therefrom, that in travelling generally, but particularly through the tunnels, prove a great annoyance; the carriage farthest from the engine will in consequence be found the most desirable.

Deimos

Ahhh, the Möbius loop of home (or motor carriage or locomotive) restoration.

You need to fix A, but you find that to do A, you have to fix B first.
So you start on B only to find that C has to be completed before B can be attempted.
And so you start on C only to discover....yep, C can't be done until A is finished.  

Been there ...good luck. In fact I'm still there...(it's a Möbius strip after all...) :P
"Unless you're prepared to surrender everything, don't surrender anything."

Society: Be yourself.
Me: OK