News:

We're back online! If you encounter any issues using the forum, please file a report in the Engine Room.

Main Menu

That 'big project' I've been banging on about for a few years now....

Started by James Harrison, January 31, 2020, 08:06:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

James Harrison

It's oddly satisfying spending a quiet hour or so on cool late Spring/ early Summer evenings laying bricks in the garden.  It's about a third of the way up to the house now.  And I've had a rethink about the gradient, actually I think what I'm going to do is keep it at the same level up to where it meets the bit that goes across the front of the bay window.  And then I'll just put a step in there.
Persons intending to travel by open carriage should select a seat with their backs to the engine, by which means they will avoid the ashes emitted therefrom, that in travelling generally, but particularly through the tunnels, prove a great annoyance; the carriage farthest from the engine will in consequence be found the most desirable.

SeVeNeVeS

Looking really good so far!

May i ask if you are using a whacker/ vibrating plate?  If not the only fear could be sinking over time.

I'm impressed I've never attempted block paving before, it's all about preperation of the ground before laying the blocks apparently.......... Anyway I ramble as usual, as I said looks good and please do update with photos of progress as when it happens.

James Harrison

I haven't run over it with a whacker, my reasoning being that I've already dug out below and backfilled with crushed concrete and stone (which of course I'm now having to scrape the top off of because I laid it to too high a level).  So you've got, - crushed concrete, - crushed limestone, - sharp sand; - block pavers.  The sharp sand might settle a bit and find ways to get down into the crushed stone, but I don't think it will settle too much.  Well, I hope not anyway...