News:

We're back online! If you encounter any issues using the forum, please file a report in the Engine Room.

Main Menu

That 'big project' I've been banging on about for a few years now....

Started by James Harrison, January 31, 2020, 08:06:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

James Harrison

Quote from: The Bullet on February 18, 2024, 01:11:30 PM
Quote from: James Harrison on February 18, 2024, 11:46:08 AMrusted solid and seized.

Try a few drops of Ballistol, wait overnight and try again. Of not successful, repeat.

I don't think any amount of lubrication would have gotten these out....

Absolutely rusted solid.

Well, I moved the bottom half upstairs and that seems to live quite happily where I had in mind for it.  My only concern is that I'm in the habit of using that space when I walk into the bathroom - because of how the door is hung, it blocks the room - so I've put it here and I'm going to see how I can live with it for a little while. 

You might also see that the remaining tiles from when I did the dining room fireplace have also migrated up here, and I'm seeing whether they would be a good fit for the bathroom floor.  I'm erring toward 'no' at the moment.  They just look too busy. 

The marble and the tiling, separated at last.  I really didn't like this job.  I started out with a screwdriver, and by the time I'd done thing we had three screwdrivers, some pliers, a hammer, a hammer drill and a chisel in play.

It's also scuffed the dining room table quite badly - one reason why I've only got a cheap one at the moment is because I was expecting it to be subjected to this sort of rough treatment.  I'm glad I've resisted the urge so far to think 'dining room is finished, get a nice new table and chairs'. 

Right- next step, live with it for a week or two and then if I don't tear my thighs open on it in the small hours, head off to the stone mason and get a new sheet of marble that  can set the sink into.