News:

We now have an integrated wiki. Log in to the forum, then visit https://brassgoggles.net/wiki/.

Main Menu

That 'big project' I've been banging on about for a few years now....

Started by James Harrison, January 31, 2020, 08:06:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

James Harrison

Remember that marble washstand top?

I call that a success.  Naturally the washbasin and taps are only loose-placed at the moment, but it's a step in the right direction. 

The quandry now is what to do next;
1) The breathable emulsion has arrived for the dining room chimneybreast, so I could repaint that one wall.
2) The washstand splashback needs re-grouting before I can screw it back to the marble, so that could be done.
3) I've broken out enough bathroom floor to make painting the first two walls worthwhile.

So that's two fairly small things and one big one I've got to get going on.  I'm hopeless at deciding 'what next?' when my to-do list starts getting too long. 
Persons intending to travel by open carriage should select a seat with their backs to the engine, by which means they will avoid the ashes emitted therefrom, that in travelling generally, but particularly through the tunnels, prove a great annoyance; the carriage farthest from the engine will in consequence be found the most desirable.

James Harrison

Last night's dilemma saw me progress two items.

Firstly, the dining room wall took on a coat of breathable paint, followed by a second this morning. 

It's not an exact match of course, but I can live with that.  The dark patch at the bottom is where the paint is drying more slowly thanks to the moisture in the wall that kicked the whole thing off to begin with. 

Then I re-grouted the washstand splashback.

Which I think was a worthwhile exercise. 

With the bathroom, I think I'm going to try and break out what's left of the tiling (and possibly more of the plywood) and just leave the bits that are physically stuck under the toilet, bathtub and sink.