News:

We're back online! If you encounter any issues using the forum, please file a report in the Engine Room.

Main Menu

That 'big project' I've been banging on about for a few years now....

Started by James Harrison, January 31, 2020, 08:06:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

James Harrison

Progress report.  This week I've managed to get the internet and telephone wire connected, which was a bit of a job in and of itself, it took three engineers about five hours to manage it, not helped by: 1) not having a dedicated telephone line in the first place; 2) the first telegraph pole they looked at to get my wire from was at an angle such as to make it unsafe to climb; 3) the second telegraph pole examined was suitable but then they ran into other, unspecified difficulties.  But they got there eventually. 

This took so long that a planned excursion to Tamworth to order a sofa had to be delayed, so instead that day I made a trip to my parents, where a second pair of dining room chairs had been delivered.  So by the end of the day last Tuesday I had a full complement of dining room chairs, my telephone was working and I could at last get back on the internet. 

Nothing much then got done until yesterday, when I was able to make the trip to the sofa showroom; upshot is I've ordered a 2 seat bonded leather Chesterfield sofa, which should be arriving next week.  I also had time to drop in the local DIY store and buy a spade, secateurs and a gardening trowel. 

I got back and hosted a visit from a carpenter, with a view to getting a door frame repaired, skirting boards secured back to the walls where they've sprung off and some doors re-hung.  He reckons it's about three days worth of work so that's booked in for my week off in mid-April.  Two of the doors have basically been condemned as hanging together by their wits, so last night I ordered two new doors, which should be delivered next week.