News:

We now have an integrated wiki. Log in to the forum, then visit https://brassgoggles.net/wiki/.

Main Menu

That 'big project' I've been banging on about for a few years now....

Started by James Harrison, January 31, 2020, 08:06:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

James Harrison

Well, that's just  :-X -ing fantastic.  The radiator cover arrived today.  Height of the radiator: 95cm.  Height of the cover: <95cm.  Quite considerably <95cm.  It means I now get to build one for myself but it's still £50-odd I could have done without losing.
Persons intending to travel by open carriage should select a seat with their backs to the engine, by which means they will avoid the ashes emitted therefrom, that in travelling generally, but particularly through the tunnels, prove a great annoyance; the carriage farthest from the engine will in consequence be found the most desirable.

SeVeNeVeS

Quote from: James Harrison on April 02, 2020, 07:34:18 PM
Well, that's just  :-X -ing fantastic.  The radiator cover arrived today.  Height of the radiator: 95cm.  Height of the cover: <95cm.  Quite considerably <95cm.  It means I now get to build one for myself but it's still £50-odd I could have done without losing.
Think about adapting what you already have. How much shorter is the cover? My initial thought wold be either lower the radiator, or add something special to the base of the cover to raise it, could save a lot of money and hassle. A photo or two would help.

James Harrison

The problem is that the radiator was installed to sit above the skirtingboards, which are (I suspect) original to the house, clocking in at 6" tall.  The radiator cover is 80cm in height, so there's a considerable difference between the two.  I could set it up on something but that's just setting up of course for when somebody barges into it and sends the thing flying.  All told I think a bespoke solution is probably called for.