News:

For Forum status and technical updates, follow @vonCorax on Twitter X, and @vonCorax@mastodon.social on Mastodon.

Main Menu

The Brewers' Guild

Started by Rev. Jade, May 05, 2012, 04:58:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rev. Jade

Hey everybody!
I've noticed a few people talking about homebrewing and beer recently, so I figured why not make a club for all of the steampunks who enjoy brewing, or even just talking about the processes of brewing and the complexities of different beer styles.
If there are people who also make wine, mead, or other types of alcohol, you are more than welcome to join in the conversation!
I would love to hear about your guys' brews, what you did, how it turned out, that kind of thing.
I've tried searching for a "brewing club" thread, but have not found one; if such a thread exists already then I apologize and please ignore this one.

As for me, I've been homebrewing for a couple of years now.
I actually started with making mead (in my dorm room my freshman year of college...sh-don't tell the university).
I would say that my mead was semi-successful, though it would have been better if I had used the proper yeast and fermented in a carboy instead of gallon water jugs.
But as a first project, I was pretty happy with the results; plus, it got me interested in brewing!
As far as beer goes, I've brewed an Irish Red Ale a few times, and I'm hoping to get my recipe completely perfected (in my opinion) pretty soon.
I've also done an IPA, and a friend of mine who loves IPAs said that it was honestly the best IPA he'd ever had, so that's something!
I'm not able to brew as much as I would like, due to time constraints (and the fact that I'm pretty poor).
The next beer that I want to brew is an Oatmeal Stout, but I just don't have the money for it at the moment.
Keeper of the Watchhouse at the Edge of the World

Come talk brewing with us over at The Brewers' Guild!

Madasasteamfish