News:

For Forum status and technical updates, follow @vonCorax on Twitter X, and @vonCorax@mastodon.social on Mastodon.

Main Menu

Advice re Quartz movement to go into Pocket Watches please

Started by Invicta, May 28, 2014, 02:29:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Invicta

This also doubles as  "Hello from Tewkesbury" from a new member. :)

A few weeks ago I started to build a couple of watches as a new Hobby.

My father in law gave me three of his old pocket watches from the 1950s and suggested he would like one back with a quartz movement in it for ease of use. The other two I can do with as I like. I like the idea of a Steampunk hard hat with watches as "ear defenders". (I'm a professional gardener so am taking this trade as my Steampunk theme).

Having seen some of the wonderful creations here I thought I would ask if anyone can suggest a quartz movement that I could put into these watch cases. I appreciate I will need to make or adapt a case ring and probably use a stem extender to get them to fit and work.
My main problem at this stage is finding a quartz movement with a simple sub seconds function as all three of these pocket watches have the seconds hand on a small sub dial between the 5 and 7 hr.

Dimensions:
Dials 44mm
Thickness = 15.15 to 17.23mm Including the glass crystal

Any suggestions to a movement ETA, Miyota, etc would be very much appreciated,

Bern

Drew P

Photos, photos, dammit we need photos!  ;D  ;)

And whatever you do, do not cannibalize those movements! Resist the urge! This is only to be done with non-function/badly broken pieces. Or forever be looked down upon!
*steps down from soap box*

Seriously though, I'm not to familiar with quartz having any seconds, chrono, yes, but only the additional secs? Hmmmm, must go google.
Never ask 'Why?'
Always ask 'Why not!?'

Invicta

Drew P,