News:

In case of emergency, please visit our Lifeboat Forum, Spare Goggles.

Main Menu

Steampunk discussions and correspondence

Started by Mackrel Sixsmith, July 17, 2021, 09:33:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mackrel Sixsmith

I am relatively new to Steampunk and am growing more and more into everything it encompasses. I would love to correspond with like-minded people, whoever and wherever you are, to share suggestions, likes and discoveries etc.

Do people find that steampunk in films is often mixed with things like dieselpunk and a like? I am looking for films and tv shows that aren't a mixture.
That is not dead which can eternal lie. And with strange aeons even death may die.

J. Wilhelm

Quote from: Mackrel Sixsmith on July 17, 2021, 09:33:01 PM

SNIP

Do people find that steampunk in films is often mixed with things like dieselpunk and a like? I am looking for films and tv shows that aren't a mixture.

That's going to be a little difficult. Yes you can define Steampunk, but exactly what constitutes Steampunk is often a matter of interpretation. There's the Victorian Steampunk and then there's the makers' Steampunk, the Survivalist's Steampunk, Pirate Steampunk, and many other kinds. You have British Imperial Steampunk, British Colonial Steampunk, Downunder Steampunk, American Weird West, and just about any nationality that came into contact with the industrial revolution.

Couple that with Dieselpunk aficionados and futurists, and you'll quickly see there's no truly universally accepted definition of Steampunk. You can define it in very broad terms, however. The definition blurs more on mainstream media like movies, as a general rule of thumb, as is more pure Victorian anachronism on literary works.

Go to the Aural Ocular section of the forum. We have several lists of Steampunk media.

Sorontar