News:

We now have an integrated wiki. Log in to the forum, then visit https://brassgoggles.net/wiki/.

Main Menu

Where to start?

Started by Ascent, September 06, 2021, 03:25:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ascent

I'm new to Steampunk and want to start working on a costume. They're seems to be lots of people out there providing lots of accesories but where do you start with the basics?

I'm thinking things like shirt and trousers suitable for a base for other elements to go onto. I've got ideas for the look I want to acheive, and the detail stuff appears to be out there but I don't really know where to start.

Hopefully the members here can help me. I should probably say I'm in the UK as well.

Ascent.
There's one way to find out if a man is honest - ask him. If he says, 'Yes,' you know he is a crook. - Marx.

Miranda.T

So much depends on the persona you wish to create - an intrepid explorer or dashing man about town, or prolific inventor or ground breaking engineer or hero of the Martian Wars or...? Once the persona is decided, the look can evolve.

Yours,
Miranda.

E.J.MonCrieff

As you have probably noticed from other posts here, you can get some excellent bargains from charity shops, and these can easily form the basis of a costume.  Most towns have somewhere selling fabric by the metre, and these often have a bin with remnants. 

As you will have noticed (if you have attended any Steampunk events), you MUST have a pair of goggles.  If you are to be a Zeppellin engineer, or indeed involved in the maintenance of a steam engine, then the most basic goggles - such as welding goggles - will do for a start.  If you intend later to be the dapper 'Man About Town', then you might consider upgrading to something a little more outré.