News:

We're back online! If you encounter any issues using the forum, please file a report in the Engine Room.

Main Menu

Howdy and HELP!

Started by MOACCUB, April 22, 2022, 01:38:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MOACCUB

OK so here is the deal, I LOVE SteamPunk but have the artistic ability of a crowbar.  Zero, none, non-existent. 

I am an engineer, builder, and (most relevant to this post) a pilot.  I'm building an airplane, a Super Legend Cub XP MOAC edition.  (https://legend.aero/american-legend-al18-super-legend-xp/)

The beauty of building my own airplane is that I can basically do whatever I want in terms of design.  What I want to do is give it a Steam Punk flare; however, as mentioned above, Im no artist.  So I would like to respectfully request assistance, guidance, ideas.

The best I have come up with is; painting the control stick and tubing with copper paint.  Not a great start, if I'm honest. 

So do ya'll have some ideas or designs you can impart??

SeVeNeVeS

First of all  Welcome aboard the forum.

Uuummm, short of buying an air ship or sopwith camel, I can't really think of anything right now.

One of our Mods has some kind of qualification in aeronautical design I believe........J. Wilhelm

I do rather like the yellow............ External paint job could be the key to Steampunking this baby,

Please do keep us updated with photos as you progress.

James Harrison

Welcome!- what SeVeNeS said.  Not being an aeronautical engineer I wouldn't want to inadvertantly suggest anything that proves detrimental to it's flying characteristics. 

What materials is it built of, by the way?- is it a timber airframe or metal? And is the covering linen or plastic or?  If we're talking about the sorts of materials that can be traced back to the Great War era or earlier, one way to go might be to give them a period finish- ie polished brightwork, varnished wood and creamish-yellow linen.